Space Force organization graphic
The Space Force is located at the Pentagon—just like the Army, Navy, Marine Corps and Air Force. While the Space Force is a separate and distinct branch of the armed services, it is organized under the Department of the Air Force in a manner very similar to how the Marine Corps is organized under the Department of the Navy.

The Chief of Space Operations (CSO) serves as the senior uniformed Space Force officer responsible for the organization, training and equipping of all organic and assigned space forces serving in the United States and overseas. As members of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, the Chief of Space Operations and other service chiefs function as military advisers to the Secretary of Defense, National Security Council, and the president.

In addition to its Headquarters, the Space Force has major operations in California, at Los Angeles Air Force Base and Vandenberg Space Force Base; in Colorado, at Buckley Space Force Base, Peterson Space Force Base and Schriever Space Force Base; and in Florida, at Patrick Space Force Base.

All Space Force personnel, whether civilian or military, are called “Guardians.” 

As of FY23, the Space Force has more than 14,000 military and civilian Guardians.